## The Children's Book Council of Australia Anthologies

Dream Time (1989) and Into the Future (1991)

In 1988 The Children's Book Council of Australia commissioned, for the first time, a book of sixteen short stories, *Dream Time*. The contributing authors had either received an award or been Highly Commended in the Book of the Year Awards.

At the time of publication, the three editors of the anthology were all members of the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA). Margaret Tyrrell (Hillel) and Toss Gascoigne (TG) were Presidents of the Victorian and Tasmanian branches of the Council respectively. The third editor was Jo Goodman.

All three editors had been judges of the CBCA Book of the Year Awards. Toss was a teacher in Hobart, Jo a school librarian in Melbourne and Margot a lecturer at the Australian Catholic University.

*Dream Time* was published in hard back by Viking Kestrel in 1989 and was so well received that it was republished in the same year in paperback by Puffin Books.

Meanwhile, the editors had been commissioned to work on a second anthology, and the follow up publication, *Into the Future* was published in hard back in 1991 by Viking Penguin.

Dream Time	Into the Future
Lee Harding	Victor Kelleher
Mary Steele	Kate Walker
Emily Rodda	Roger Vaughan Carr
Morris Lurie	Michael Dugan
Allan Baillie	Robin Klein
Jenny Wagner	Elizabeth Hutchins
Ivan Southall	Brian Caswell
John Marsden	Ted Schumann
Libby Hathorn	Mary K Pershall
Frank Willmott	Isobelle Carmody
Ted Greenwood	Allan Baillie
Thurley Fowler	Mary Steele
Victor Kelleher	Penny Hall
Gillian Rubinstein	Donna Sharp
Patricia Wrightson	Judith O'Neill
Christobel Mattingley	Caroline Macdonald

### **Short Story Authors**

This material was collected by Toss Gascoigne and relates to the editing and publication process. It was donated by him to National Centre for Australian Children's Literature Inc. in April 2025.

## Box 1

## **DREAM TIME MATERIAL**

### Folder 1

Deam Time

Initial papers regarding the development of the book

- Notes regarding planning of the project
- Correspondence with the publishers
- List of authors invited to submit (with addresses)
- Letters and correspondence with authors
- Correspondence between the editors

## Folder 2

Deam Time

- Correspondence between TG and contributors to the book
- Publishing agreements
- Reviews
- Newspaper clippings
- Agreement of Ivan Southall to hand all related documents to the Lu Rees Collection
- Letter from students
- Permission agreements from contributors
- Promotional flyer for Survival In Our Own Land and note from Christobel Mattingley
- Memorandum of Agreement between the co-editors and the publisher
- Memorandum of agreement between contributors and the editors
- Promotional material and dust cover for Deam Time
- Handwritten notes
- Letters between the editors
- Letters between the publishers and the editors regarding CBCA
- List of contents and authors

## Folder 3

Deam Time

• Original manuscripts

# INTO THE FUTURE MATERIAL

### Folder 4

Into the Future

- Preliminary planning notes
- Letters between editors
- Responses from authors invited to contribute work
- Letters between TG and authors
- Agreements between the publisher, Penguin Books, the co-editors
- Letters between the publisher and TG
- Newspaper clippings and promotional materials
- Handwritten notes
- Postcard from John Marsden to TG

### Folder 5

Into the Future

- Letters between editors
- Letters between TG and authors
- Agreements between the publisher, Penguin Books, the co-editors and the authors
- Letters between the publisher and TG
- Mock up of possible book layout
- Newspaper clippings and promotional materials
- Invoices for Royalties
- Handwritten notes

### Folder 6

Into the Future

• Original manuscripts

#### Folder 7

Into the Future

• Original manuscripts

## Folder 8

Into the Future

- Original manuscripts
- Promotional material
- Press clippings
- Reviews
- Letter to co-editors from publishers